Our governors are volunteers who play an important part in setting the strategic direction of The Crossley Heath School, ensuring we continue to raise standards and strive for excellence in everything that we do. All Crossley Heath School Governors are passionate about improving the lives of every single young person and they are fully committed to our aim of being “outstanding and beyond”.

The core strategic functions of the governing body are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students, and the performance management of staff;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governors can be contacted via Deborah Tynan, Clerk to the Governing Body

The Chair of Governors may be contacted via the Clerk to the Governing Body or by writing to the school at The Crossley Heath School, Savile Park, Halifax, HX3 0HG

The Crossley Heath School Governors

Crossley Heath School Academy Trust MembersAppointed 
Simon Lee3 April 2020Chair
Sandra Whitson 1 January 2013Trust member
Nigel Bates1 January 2013Trust member
Rod Atkinson 1 January 2013Trust member
David Roper1 January 2013Trust member


GovernorRoleAppointedIn Office Until
Simon LeeChairmanAppointed Chair 3 April 202013th November 2020
Lynnette CassidyHead Teacher 1 September 2017Ex-Officio
Yasmin AhmedAppointed 21 March 201620th March 2020
Michael AmosAppointed 14 November 201613th November 2020
Simon LeeAppointed 14 November 201613th November 2020
Stella GillespieStaff 22 March 201821st March 2022
Vicky PenningtonStaff 12 October 201711th October 2021
Richard BackhouseFoundation1 January 201531st December 2022
Bill MontagueAppointed 1 September 201831 August 2022
Vicky QueenanAppointed 1 September 201831 August 2022
Chris MilnerParent1 January 201931 December 2022
Jaswinder SandhuParent1 January 201931 December 2022
Angela BirtParent1 January 201931 December 2022
Business and Resources
Michael Amos (Chair)
Simon Lee
Bill Montague
Vicky Pennington
Chris Milner
Achievement & Welfare
Richard Backhouse (Chair)
Yasmin Ahmed
Stella Gillespie
Simon Lee
Vicky Queenan
Angela Birt
Jaswinder Sandhu
Vision & Strategy
Vicky Queenan
Simon Lee
Yasmin Ahmed
Bill Montague
Jaswinder Sandhu
Angela Birt
Chris Milner

Further Information

Governors who have served within the last 12 months:

Mr N Smith 21 March 2016 to 20 March 2020
Mrs T Casey 14 November 2016 to 13 November 2020
Mr M Jackson – 16 May 2016 to 15th May 2020
Mrs F Millington – 13th July 2017 to 20th March 2020


Business or personal interests – Governors and Trust Members:
Some interests have been declared and are on the School’s Business Interests Register.

Governor attendance at meetings can be found within the financial accounts

Governance roles in other educational institutions:
Dr S Whitson, Dr A Birt